Monday, July 19, 2010

Via Dolorosa

The Via Dolorosa, Latin for "way of grief/suffering", is the street within the Old Jerusalem where Jesus walked and carried the cross to his crucifixion.   The 14 stations of the cross, sometimes 9 stations, start just inside The Lion's Gate (shown in previous post) making its way through the Old City and ending with the last 5 stations inside the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.  The next few posts will show different stations along the Via Dolorosa, but I will go ahead and list the fourteen stations for you:
1. Jesus is condemned to death.
2. Jesus receives his cross.
3. Jesus falls the first time under his cross. *
4. Jesus meets his Mother. *
5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross.
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus. *
7. Jesus falls the second time. *
8. Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem.
9. Jesus falls a third time. *
10. Jesus is stripped of his garments.
11. Jesus is crucified.
12. Jesus dies on the cross.
13. Jesus' body is removed from the cross. *
14. Jesus' body is laid in the tomb
Sometimes the Resurrection is included as the fifteenth station.
*these are not written in the gospels, only 8 have clear scriptural foundation. 
I think this was my favorite photo (above) from the trip.  I could have sat here all day admiring the architecture, beautiful landscaping, and rich green leaves.  And don't miss the precious pergola on the left with a table waiting for me.  Maybe one day, I can recreate this photo in my backyard.  What a dream!
Before we continued on the road, we stopped at a little pizzeria.

No comments:

Post a Comment